Review: Mark of Destiny

Mark of DestinyMark of Destiny by Azrael James

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I received an ARC in exchange for the potential of an honest review.

That being said, I look forward to purchasing it when it comes out to support Azrael. I’d like to see a lot more of him on the market. As I’ve already seemed to give away, I thoroughly enjoyed Azrael’s debut novel. It held my attention from cover to cover and I can’t wait to see where he goes with the next novel.

Story: The story was well thought out and quite unique. The magic system is quite unique and I wish I had thought of something like it. It had many different phases and I enjoyed the twists and turns it took me down. The pace is good. The first third of the book was absolutely fantastic. I was willingly reading it over Furies of Calderon. That was followed up by a bit of traveling that I didn’t love but traveling is a necessary evil and it’s hard to make that super exciting. Beyond that, I loved every bit of the plot which tied well with the setting and the characters. The last third of the book was quite unpredictable. I had no idea where it would go but it was a satisfying end.

Characters: The characters were my favorite part of the book. Azrael did a great job with creating compelling characters that were easy to root for and/or against. There is a wide variety of personalities and as a result a good variance in relationships throughout the book (that are interesting and are fun to visualize). As mentioned above, the characters are utilized well with the plot.

Grammar and Style: Grammar was wonderful. Didn’t encounter any errors, even with this ARC copy. Azrael’s style is unique and should keep the reader entertained. The prose is well done. It’s just right.

Overall, I would give it a 4.5 out of 5 and with this being his first book I have absolutely no qualms about having to round up to 5. I’d recommend anyone that enjoys well-thought-out and varied magic to check this out. Now that I write this, I realize that Azrael has given himself an opportunity to expand even further with both the magic system and Belstrom in his next book.

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “Review: Mark of Destiny

Leave a Reply

