Review: Power Play

Power Play (A Blades Hockey Novella, #1)Power Play by Maria Luis

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I would recommend anyone that likes witty romance with a dab of steam to read this book. Blindly reading through this book without noting the author, it’d be hard to tell she is new to the scene. I found that her style stood out. It drew me in and I never found myself thinking about this book as one that was written by a newbie.

The plot was great, there was nothing too frustrating with it. Only one slightly “come on” moment but it didn’t prevent me from wanting to read on. The plot moved well, it was the perfect length.

Both of the main characters are likable and relatable. The author has a fantastic voice that gets you into the story through Charlie’s head, and even as a guy, I could relate. Maria did a good job of making Charlie a multi-dimensional character that you’d want to know in real life. Same with Duke, his layers are slower to reveal as we aren’t in his head but it’s done well.

Great grammar and wonderful writing style as mentioned before.

I’d recommend this book to anyone that enjoys wit, well-rounded characters, a fast moving plot with a dash of steam and hockey.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Power Play

Leave a Reply

