Review: Uprooted

UprootedUprooted by Naomi Novik

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book was an up and down read. There were some interesting parts and there were some parts that I got wish I could have skipped. Overall, I don’t regret reading it but I don’t know if I’d recommend it to myself if I had a time machine. I did mark five awesome vocabulary words (recalcitrant, inimical, profligate, herald, and missish), though. So maybe I’d have past me read it for those (or just pass on the word list?).

Anyway, onto the review. Like always, I’ll let you read the blurb for the exact synopsis, but this book was about a girl who went to live with a wizard known as Dragon. He picked a girl to teach magic to every several years. Poor girls right? Both characters had their ups and downs. The girl, Agnieszka, is an interesting character. She goes from being a pretty bad magician and assistant to actually being good at a different type of magic. If you look at other reviews, other will mention a weird love interest she becomes involved in. I’ll agree with those to a certain extent. It was a little out of place, but I didn’t take too much effort with it.

The place where the book shines is the fantastical feel you will likely get from the book. If you want to sit with some tea by the fire and you need a break from those cozy mysteries, this would likely be a decent book for you. It feels like a fairy tale so you should get some warm and fuzzies from it. The immersion is great if you like the whole “no rules” magic system. So basically, the opposite of Sanderson system. Instead, the sky’s the limit depending on who the magician chanting or singing is.

The plot itself is interesting and should keep you engaged. It’s a bit sad but it isn’t terrible. At one point I wondered how they’d get through this, a bit unexpected how unpleasant things got for the characters every now and then but the fairytale feel overrides it…for the most part.

So all together, the characters are both good (I liked the Dragon’s real name) and iffy, the plot is mostly good and I enjoyed the magic. But the pacing is slow at some points, bringing this to a “Yeah, I enjoyed it,” three stars out of five that could very easily be higher for a fan of the above elements.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Uprooted

    1. I’ve been trying to do reviews on Mondays but it’s hard to have a book done to review each week on top of writing so I had to go back in time and review Uprooted which I had already finished :p

      Like

Leave a Reply

