Book Review: The Caves of Steel

The Caves of Steel (Robot, #1)The Caves of Steel by Isaac Asimov

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is an interesting series. I’ve read I, Robot and the two books that follow this one. All of the books provide an interesting perspective on robots and the future. For those of you that are intrigued by such AI development (aka scared of future robot overlords), I’d recommend reading this book.

Caves of Steel is about a detective, Elijah Bailey, that is thrust into a huge case. He is assigned a robot partner (he hates robots – much like Will Smith’s I, Robot character) and it causes an interesting dynamic. We spend a lot of time in his head as he slowly becomes friendly-ish towards robots – or at least his partner. Speaking of which, his partner Daneel is a great guy. I enjoyed him a lot. He (it?) is not like the other robots for he is a new model that is designed to look just like a human.

But anyway, this is a good book. It does have some slow parts which is why I gave it only a 4 but it will likely keep your attention. Caves of Steel, The Naked Sun (book 2), and The Robots of Dawn (book 3) all follow a familiar pattern. The main character is given a case that he has to solve, he gets back in touch with Daneel the robot, and they go off to solve an unsolvable case. Elijah does a lot of guess work but he does eventually put it together – for the most part.

The best part of these books are the interpersonal relationships between the cast of character. There aren’t many, only a handful of unique ones in each book, but it’s fascinating seeing the difference between someone from the earth like Elijah and a lady that grew up on another planet. Earthlings live under huge domes and essentially never go outside (Caves of Steel) while other planets are quite accustomed to doing things with the assistance of robots. I could type forever on the conflicts and confusion that stem from such interactions but I’d urge you to read the book instead.

Overall, this is a book I’m glad I read. The books have a familiar pattern that doesn’t get too old and they maintain exciting enough relationships between characters keep one intrigued.

Please feel free to comment if you’d like to suggest a book for me to review! Check below for what I’ve read or even give me something I haven’t read but should. 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

