Book Review: The Rithmatist

The Rithmatist (The Rithmatist, #1)The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a solid book. The magic system was quite unique. It only reinforced the notion that Brandon Sanderson can make the weirdest things readable – including chalk magic.

This story is about a boy, Joel, who is not a rithmatist (you know, those people who can draw chalk things and they come alive). Essentially, Joel gets caught in the middle of a big mystery as he struggles with his disappointment at not being a rithmatist. The tone is clearly young adult-ish but it still kept my attention.

Joel makes a few companions throughout the book that are well-developed and unique. I particularly enjoyed Melody, someone who grows on Joel as the book goes on.

There are a lot of secrets regarding the plot and is probably one of the more mystery detective books I’ve read (I don’t read any really!) so it was a good change of pace. We don’t find out much until the end, and unless I overestimate my intelligence, I doubt anyone would guess who is responsible before it’s revealed!

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Rithmatist

Leave a Reply

